Links

  • Tom Holland has an article about how his moral views have been influenced (unknowingly) by Christianity: “Today, even as belief in God fades across the West, the countries that were once collectively known as Christendom continue to bear the stamp of the two-millennia-old revolution that Christianity represents. It is the principal reason why, by and large, most of us who live in post-Christian societies still take for granted that it is nobler to suffer than to inflict suffering. It is why we generally assume that every human life is of equal value. In my morals and ethics, I have learned to accept that I am not Greek or Roman at all, but thoroughly and proudly Christian” (h/t Larry Hurtado).
  • At The Atlantic there is an article about Native American tribes in the United States that refuse to recognize same-sex marriages. The author claims that this may, in the government’s eyes, make them seem unjust, thereby endangering their rights to self-rule: “When tribes choose Indian rights over civil rights, they run the risk of being labeled unjust. In many instances, the protection of tribal customs and traditions may warrant this risk. The question is whether same-sex marriage bans fall into this category.”  This will be a sensitive topic for (secular) liberal people, since they generally consider objections to same-sex marriage bigoted, and also generally consider Western attacks on other cultures bigoted. In this case, these two values seem to conflict.
  • Over at Fr. Aidan Kimel’s blog, Fr. Christiaan Kappes has recently written two posts about this blog’s patron saint, Georgios Gennadios Scholarios: part 1 and part 2.
  • The Fellowship of Catholic Scholars has a page with homily-like commentaries on different passages, all written by different scholars. This one, about Christian women who had to flee from Iraq, is my favorite: And so you hear them proclaim, as one of the women in the New York exhibit does: “My strength is in Jesus Christ.” She is grateful for what ISIS has unintentionally done for her. “Honestly, this was an awakening for me, because I was completely absorbed in my work, my kids, their homework, the things I have to do. I was completely distracted.” Her faith, she confesses, was cold. “Before I had everything but I was unsatisfied, now I have nothing and I am joyful.” […] When she feels sad, she says, “thinking about what we used to have,” she focuses instead on Jesus. “I have Jesus and he is enough”.
Leave a Reply

